High School‎ > ‎

HS Latest News

5 FFA Students Recognized at Speaking Competition

posted Nov 9, 2018, 5:31 AM by SWR5 Web Sites

Southwest FFA students Leland Colf, Emily Berry, Allison Corwin, McKenzie Smith and Laney Moore were all recognized at the recent Area 11 Fall Speaking Contest. Moore, a sophomore, earned first place in teaching agriculture category. Sophomores Leland Colf (Cattlemen), Emily Berry (Pet Breeders) and Allison Corwin (Young Farmers) all placed second. Also, McKenzie Smith, a junior, was an alternate in teaching agriculture. Southwest FFA is led Advisers Lena Alsup and Bill Caldwell.

Monett Defeats Lady Trojans

posted Oct 16, 2018, 6:45 AM by SWR5 Web Sites

Monett defeated Southwest in a non-conference game and regular season volleyball finale Monday night. The Cubs also won the JV game. The Lady Trojans are now off until Class 2 district play next Monday at Sarcoxie. They will play East Newton at 7:30 in the quarterfinals. 

Spikers Defeat Exeter on Senior Night

posted Oct 14, 2018, 3:04 PM by SWR5 Web Sites

The volleyball team downed Exeter Friday 25-5, 26-24 in a non-conference game and celebrated Senior Night with a win. Sophomore Brylee Wilson led the way with 8 kills and a block, while Senior Maggie Robbins was 13 for 13 serving with 2 aces and added 7 assists. The JV team lost in 2 sets. The Lady Trojans have a record of 10-17-1 as they finish the regular season Monday at Monett. They drew East Newton for the Class 2 District playoffs that start a week from Monday at Sarcoxie.

Southwest Spikers Down Gentry

posted Oct 9, 2018, 6:41 AM by SWR5 Web Sites

Southwest defeated Gentry 26-24, 25-13, 25-17 Monday night for Pink Out in a non-conference volleyball game. The Lady Trojans earned their 9th win of the season led by Seniors Heather Windes (16 assists and 15 for 15 serving), Jacey Ball (9 assists and 2 kills), Mariah Munday (21 digs and 13 kills) and Sophomore Bonnie Robbins (10 digs, 8 aces and 3 kills). The JV won its first set of the season, but lost in three sets, and the C team was competitive, but lost in 2 sets. The team returns to action Friday for Senior Night here against Exeter. The ceremony will be between the JV and varsity games. 

Lady Trojans Defeat Purdy

posted Oct 8, 2018, 6:18 AM by SWR5 Web Sites

The Lady Trojans finished their first season in the SWCL Conference Thursday night with a 25-20, 25-15 win at Purdy. Seniors Mariah Munday (13 kills, 10 digs), Heather Windes (14 assists, 11 digs, a kill, and 7 for 7 serving), and Maggie Robbins (9 of 10 serving with 3 aces, 12 assists, 2 kills and a block) led the way. Southwest is currently in 5th place in the 8-team division. Purdy on the JV game. The Lady Trojans finish the home season next week with Pink Out Monday against Gentry, Ark. Games begin at 5:00. And Friday (Oct. 12) is Senior Night and Family Night when we honor Jacey Ball, Mariah Munday, Lacey Reeves, Maggie Robbins, and Heather Windes, and parents, grandparents and guardians.  

Billings Sweeps Lady Trojans in Volleyball

posted Sep 25, 2018, 6:04 AM by SWR5 Web Sites

Billings swept all three SWCL matches Monday night in Washburn. The Wildcats won the varsity game 25-17, 25-6 and won both the JV and C games in straight sets. The girls return to action Thursday night against Wheaton. Games begin with a C match at 5:00. Volleyfest is Saturday. Southwest plays Wheaton, Gentry (Ark.), Pierce City.

Southwest Lady Trojans at Galena Tournament Video Highlights

posted Sep 24, 2018, 8:15 AM by SWR5 Web Sites

Please click on one of the links below to view highlights from the Lady Trojans at the Galena Volleyball Tournament.

Blue Eye Sweeps Southwest in Volleyball

posted Sep 18, 2018, 5:42 AM by SWR5 Web Sites

Blue Eye swept all three SWCL matches in Washburn Monday night. The Bulldogs dominated the varsity match 25-9, 25-7, but the JV and C teams played their best sets of the season, the JV losing 25-13 in the second set and the C team gets 18 points in the second set and 28 for the entire game. Significant improvement. The varsity plays at Hurley Friday and in the Galena Tournament all day Saturday. The next home game is next Monday vs. SWCL opponent Billings.

Volleyball Highlights Video

posted Sep 17, 2018, 12:10 PM by SWR5 Web Sites   [ updated Sep 17, 2018, 12:14 PM ]

A gentleman named Ron Sorenson has a YouTube channel and he made a highlight video of the volleyball game between Southwest and Sparta Friday.

To view the video off-campus, please click here.

To view the video on-campus, please click here.

Southwest Volleyball Rallies to Defeat Sparta

posted Sep 17, 2018, 5:24 AM by SWR5 Web Sites

Southwest rallied in the Battle of the Trojans Friday night, defeating Sparta 25-18, 25-25, 25-23 to win its first SWCL Conference road game. With the score 23-23, Senior Mariah Munday hit the line with a pinpoint spike to put Southwest at set point. Sparta made an error on a tip and Southwest improved to 2-1 in the league. Sparta won the JV game against an improving Southwest squad 25-11, 25-18. The Trojans return to action Monday night at home with a game against another SWCL opponent, Blue Eye.

1-10 of 19